fbpx

Frequently Asked Questions

FAQ2017-04-09T14:50:38-07:00
Why TCM Review Seminars?2020-10-08T14:56:29-07:00

Board exams are challenging enough. Why undertake them on your own? TCM Review has been successfully teaching board review since 1997. We have more experience than any other review company operating today. When it comes to board review, experience is everything and our pass rates can attest to that.

All of our teachers have sat for the Pan Canadian/CALE/NCCAOM exams. They know better than anyone how to pass the tests. Our team has the teaching experience you need to successfully pass your board exams the first time. Why look any where else?

Our site is user friendly. You can log in to class, watch videos and work on test questions from anywhere in the world. The site responds to your device, not the other way around.

TCM Review has a proven track record for the Pan Canadian Exam. We have been tutoring for the exam since its inception. Our first class went through our pilot program with flying colors. We have a high pass rate for both the Written and Clinical Case Studies Exams. Generally, our students score 20-25 points higher than the national average.

Is TCM Review Seminars right for me?2020-10-29T13:42:08-07:00

Are you overwhelmed with the amount of material you need to learn? Not sure where to start or how to organize the material? Worried you might not study the right material? Need someone to help lay out a plan for study and make sure you are tracked to pass your boards? If you answered yes to any or all of these questions, then this is the right course for you. Our courses have definite start and end dates. Each week a new class is released on Mondays.  There is reading and homework to be completed each week.  We have online quizzes that you can take so you can test your knowledge. Last of all, we provide you with an hour by hour study schedule for each day of the week. We’ve helped literally thousands of students pass their board exams throughout North America. You might be worried but we are not. We’ve seen this all before. Don’t you deserve to study with someone with years of board review experience as you go through this process?

How is your course different from other review courses out there?2020-10-29T13:46:21-07:00
TCM Review Seminars has been the pioneer in acupuncture board review courses since 1997. Our courses for the Pan Canadian Exam are guided courses.  38 hours of the Written course and 18 hours of the Clinical Case Studies course are recorded videos. But, we are here to help every step of the way.  Read more!

In the Clinical Case Studies course, for 4 hours a week for 8 weeks you are actually in a class with a teacher in the Live Case study classes.

If that’s not enough, we can also set up regular calls and emails so that you feel supported as you go through this time.

We also have over 400 online quiz questions that you can work through at your own speed.

And if that’s still not enough, we also have a comprehensive study schedule that tells you exactly what to study and when to study it.

We’ll help you study smarter, not harder, and pass your board exams on the first try.
Do you have students I can talk with who have taken your review?2018-03-07T09:34:51-08:00

Absolutely, our past students have had a good experience with our course and they are willing to share their experiences with you. Just contact us HERE and we’re happy to find someone for you to talk with.

What course options does TCM Review Seminars offer for the Pan Canadian Written Exam and Clinical Case Studies Exam? What does each course include?2020-10-29T13:48:43-07:00

The Written Exam and the Clinical Case Studies Exam are two very different tests. While some of the core knowledge is necessary for both, the testing strategies are very different.

The Pan Canadian Written Exam prep course covers classes in Foundations/ Diagnosis, Acupuncture, Safety and Biomedicine. We have over 500 case studies and a bank of online test questions for you to use at your own pace. There are two full-length mock exams for you to use for practice. It is a solid review for the Pan Canadian Written Exam and a good foundation for the Clinical Case Studies Exam.

The Pan Canadian Clinical Case Studies course includes 6 of our core classes from the Pan Canadian Written Exam covering Zang Fu Patterns, Case Study Analysis and Approach, Treatment Principles, Single Point Function and Selections, Biomedicine and Safety.  In addition to this, we have 7 classes that are specific to the Pan Canadian Clinical Case Studies Exam. These cover the 143 diseases (9 hours) and Case Studies (5 hours).

The best approach is to start with our Pan Canadian Written Exam course so you can lay down a strong foundation.  If you have passed the Written Exam but failed the Clinical Case Studies exam, it is critical that you start studying before your course start date.  Not sure which course you need or have questions?  Feel free to email us and set up a consultation.

 What subjects are covered in your course?2018-03-11T14:52:35-07:00
We cover everything you need to know for the Pan Canadian Exams. That’s everything from Yin / Yang Theory, Diagnosis, Case Study Analysis, Tongue and Pulse, Shang Han Lun, Single Point Functions, Cupping, Ear Acupuncture, Scalp Acupuncture, Moxa, thorough Biomedicine, Pharmacology, Safety Manual and more. Basically, if you need to know it for your exam, we have a video on it. If we don’t have a video on it, we are probably creating one.
Our course is different because we don’t tell you what to go and read and study. We teach the material to you in the way we want you to know it for your exam. Our system works. Click here for our pass rates.  Ours is a guided course because this exam is too important to leave to chance. Our job is to know the exam inside and out so our students are prepared to pass the first time!
What materials do I need for class?2020-10-29T13:51:00-07:00
  • Pan Canadian Written Exam course:
    • You will need the TCM Review Seminars Course Reader. The course reader is included in the price of the course and mailed after registration and payment is complete. There is a shipping fee added at the time of payment.
  • Pan Canadian Clinical Exam course:
    • You will need the The Official TCM Review Clinical Case Studies Textbook for the Pan Canadian Exam. It is the course companion for TCM Review’s Clinical Case Studies Prep Course. This book covers essential information to pass the Pan Canadian Clinical Case Studies exam. It can be purchased on Amazon.
  • High speed internet connection:
    • Most modern computers can stream videos and live events with no problem. In order to participate in the TCM Review exam prep courses, please consider your internet speed.We use Vimeo to stream our class videos. Watching a YouTube video with no problem is not a good indicator of whether you will be able to participate in the course (especially live webinars) without interruption – the quality of YouTube videos is much lower.

      Here’s what you’ll need:

      • Recorded videos – at least 2-3 mbps download speed
      • Live webinars – at least 3-4 mbps download speed

      To determine your internet speed, check with your internet service provider (Comcast, Verizon, etc.) or run a test at speedtest.net.

How do I access the online videos? Can I download and keep these videos?2020-10-29T13:51:50-07:00

All course materials from the recorded video classes to the live online classes are accessible via your Student Portal. During registration, you will be asked to provide a login and password. Keep this safe as this is your own private account on the site.

Our course is a subscription-based course. You cannot download, copy or in any other way keep the videos. The site and its content is protected by international copyright laws.

Where are the Live Online classes held?2020-10-08T15:49:40-07:00

All our classes are held online. That means no need to spend extra time traveling to a location.  You can access the online classes from the comfort of your own home via desktop or laptop computer, tablet or smartphone. We have students taking the course from all over Canada/ North America and sometimes from even as far away as Australia or New Zealand. This format for class means you can travel, take vacations and login even while at work.  We’ve even had students login while they were flying across the country.

Each student will need a computer or tablet that is connected to the Internet with a webcam, microphone and speaker capabilities to attend the Live Online classes.

What is the time limit for viewing each recorded class?2020-10-08T15:51:31-07:00

For both the Pan Canadian Written Exam Course and the Clinical Case Studies Exam Course, we release one class video per week on Mondays at 12pm PT. You can watch the recorded videos as much as you like. The recorded videos won’t expire and will be available until the day of the exam.

What is the difference between Live and Recorded classes?2020-10-13T13:08:58-07:00

We offer classes in two different formats.

Live classes are held live online using a meeting app that allows for live interaction with the teacher and your fellow students. Each student will need a computer or tablet that is connected to the internet with webcam, microphone and speaker capabilities to attend the live online classes.

Recorded classes are pre-recorded video that you can rewind, fast forward and watch as many times as you like while they are posted.

How do I access the online quizzes?2020-10-13T13:12:07-07:00

We have built our very own quiz site where you’ll find all the tests, quizzes and exams for your course. You can take the quizzes and practice tests as often as you like, whenever you like. The Pan Canadian Written and Bundle courses also have timed Mock Exams.

When should I register for your courses? How do I register?2020-10-29T13:52:44-07:00

You can register before July 1st for the October exam prep courses and before February 1st for the April exam prep courses.  However, we recommend that you take 6-8 months to prepare for the exams.

Register here on our secure site.

What is the schedule for the next course?2020-10-13T13:19:58-07:00

You can find the schedules for the upcoming R.Ac prep courses here.

You can find the schedules for the upcoming TCMP prep courses here.

Why won’t the course start until May or November? I’m ready to start now.2020-10-13T13:21:18-07:00
There is such a thing as overstudying and then losing momentum. With 20 years in the Acupuncture Board Review field, what I can tell you is that you need 5 – 6 months to prepare for your board exams. Studying three hours a day, 5-6 days a week. As the time for the exam approaches, we have you ramp up your study time to 5-7 hours a day, 7 days a week during the last month before the exam.  For most students, this is more than enough time.
If you want to start early, once you register, we’ll give you a list of material to work through while you wait for the video classes to be released. This is information we give out only after you have registered for the course.
What are the payment options for the Pan Canadian courses? What is covered in the price of the course?2020-10-29T13:53:33-07:00

We can set up payment plans for the Bundle course. Payments can be made in four or six monthly installments if that works better with your budget.

The price of the Pan Canadian Written Exam courses covers everything: all the recorded videos classes, Mock Exams, online quizzes, the ability to call or email with your teachers and most of your print material.  It does not include the HB Kim Handbook of Oriental Medicine which is used for a few of our classes.

The price of the Clinical Case Studies Exam courses covers everything: all the recorded video classes, live online classes, the ability to call or email with your teachers and your course material.

The price of the Bundle course covers both the Written and Clinical Case Studies courses at a discounted bundle rate!

Can I share my subscription with other students?2020-10-13T13:24:06-07:00

Each membership is for personal use only. We do monitor your IP addresses and login patterns. Any overages or usual patterns will set off a red flag on our end. If we suspect account sharing, your account will be locked and you will lose your membership without a refund. Please don’t share your account.

Still Have Questions?

Send an email to us. We’ll get back to you as soon as possible.

First & Last
Sending